Play Fantasy Strike (Pre-Alpha) Free Weekend July 28-30th on PC and Mac

Fantasy Strike is for everyone from those who have always been intimidated by fighting games all the way up to hardcore pros. Have you been wondering what the game is really like? Now’s your chance to find out! From July 28-30th, we’re hosting a Fantasy Strike Free Weekend on PC and Mac.

You’ll have full access to 8 playable characters. You’ll be able to play online, locally, use our full-featured training mode, and more.

If you enjoy the game and want to support it, please do so on our Fig crowdfunding campaign.

Deployment Schedule

The free period will begin July 28th at 11am PT and end July 30th at 11:59pm PT. For help with time zones, visit


19:00 BST on July 28

20:00 CEST on July 28

21:00 MSK on July 28


11:00 a.m. PDT on July 28

12:00 p.m. MDT on July 28

1:00 p.m. CDT on July 28

1:00 p.m. AST on July 28

2:00 p.m. EDT on July 28

3:00 p.m. BRT on July 28

3:30 p.m. NDT on July 28

2:00 a.m. SGT on July 29

4:00 a.m. AEST on July 29

6:00 a.m. NZDT on July 29


2:00 a.m. CST on July 29

3:00 a.m. KST on July 29

3:00 a.m. JST on July 29

4:00 a.m. AEST on July 29

Installation and Play Instructions

Simply download the Free Weekend build of the game, unzip it, then run the Fantasy Strike app. The app will not function before or after the Free Weekend period.

Free Weekend FAQ

What countries can play during the free weekend?
You can play the game from anywhere in the world!

What content will be available during the free weekend?
8 characters and 4 stages are available. Online play is available (quick match, but not direct challenge of specific opponents—that will be available to our Fig backers of our deluxe and higher tiers right after the campaign ends). There is also a local versus mode, a full-featured training mode, and arcade mode. The game is still in a pre-alpha state, meaning it is not feature complete. The content and features you see are still in development.

What controllers are supported and how do I use them?
Fantasy Strike supports just about any controller, but first, a note about using a keyboard to play. Fantasy Strike works unusually well on keyboard, moreso than other fighting games. Your left hand only ever has to press one of two buttons at a time, never two buttons at once because there is no crouch command. The action buttons fit under your four fingers and thumb, which means you never have to move your fingers to other keys as you play. Even if you use a joystick for most fighting games, you might end up preferring keyboard for Fantasy Strike.

That said, you can use any controller you like (PS4, Xbox, joystick, Guitar Hero controller, etc.). As a temporary feature during our pre-alpha state, while you’re on the main menu you can press and hold any two buttons on your controller. Then a mapping screen comes up that lets you map which physical button on your controller corresponds to which PlayStation 4 button. (Which is X, which is Triangle, etc.) Once you do that, our game recognizes your hardware. The various attacks will be mapped in the default way, and if you like to change which button is super attack, toggle up-to-jump on/off, and so on, you can do that in the button config screen, accessible from the pause menu.

In the release version of the game, we plan to remove that first step (the one where you hold any two buttons to setup your controller). Our goal is that in the future, you’ll plug in any controller and our game will automatically recognize it from a very large library of controllers. We’ll map it for you, instantly, requiring no action on your part. For now, you have to do this step yourself though.

Can I change my username that appears to other players?
When you play online during our free weekend, your username will appear as a randomly generated name. If you’d like to change your name, find and edit the displayname.txt file that’s in the same directory as the game executable. You must launch the game at least once for the displayname.txt file to appear there. Keep in mind that this is only a temporary feature and that if you later play on Steam or consoles that your username will automatically appear correctly in those versions of the game.

Will the Mac and PC versions have cross-play?
Yes. When you play online in Quick Match, you’ll be facing both Mac and PC opponents.

What is the approximate download size of the game?
The approximate download size is 600MB. When installed, it takes about 2GB of hard disk space.

If I have trouble running the game at good framerate, what can I do?
You can lower the graphics quality in the graphics options (there are 4 levels of quality available). You can run the game at a lower resolution, such as 720p. You can also try turning vsync off in the game’s debug options, but we recommend keeping it on if possible because that will reduce the “screen tearing” effect.

What if I need more help, or want to talk to other players?
Post on our forums here
Join our discord text chat here.